Thank You Girlstart

September 15, 2010 at 4:48 am Leave a comment

Dear Girlstart,

My daughter teaching my son what she learned at camp

I thought I’d let you know that my daughter attended the Jr. Medic Camp this summer and it was such a wonderful experience for her.  She came home loving the programming and before camp she showed almost no interest in computers (not even games).  She told me it was because programming is all about math and that is her favorite subject.

I just wanted to share that with you because as the mom of a 5th grade daughter, finding ways to encourage her interest in math is science is a top priority for me.  I am on faculty in the Communication Studies Department at UT and my undergraduate degree is in biochemistry.  I understand how important it is that girls get these reinforcing messages.  I hope she can attend future events as well.

Thank you so much for your wonderful program!

Keri Stephens

Entry filed under: families, girls, Girlstart, STEM, technology. Tags: , , , , , .

Dr. Sally Ride to Speak at Girlstart Annual Luncheon Spooky Fun

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Categories


